Student Award

The European Association of Archaeologists established the EAA Student Award in 2002.
The prize is awarded annually for the best paper presented at the EAA Annual Meeting by a student or archaeologist, working on a dissertation. Papers are evaluated for their academic merit and innovative ideas by the Award Selection Committee.

The Committee consists of representatives of the EAA Executive Board, and is chaired by the General Editor of the European Journal of Archaeology. The Award consists of a diploma and one or more book vouchers. The winner of the award is announced at the Annual Business Meeting. The winning paper will be considered for publication in the European Journal of Archaeology (EJA).

Former recipients

  • 2010 – Camilla Norman
  • 2009 – Pamela Cross
  • 2008 – not awarded
  • 2007 – Goce Naumov
  • 2006 – not awarded
  • 2005 – Marta Caroscio
  • 2004 – Jonathan D. Le Huray
  • 2003 – Anita Synnestvedt
  • 2002 – Laura M. Popova


The prize is generously sponsored by two leading archaeology publishers:

Cambridge University Press